Ok so before I begin, let me explain what a cleanse is and is not. I have had a LOT of questions (questions are good) and hopefully I can provide the answers. People always ask me why are you eating if you are doing a cleanse? Normally, I would do an herbal cleanse. My favorite cleanse is by Renew Life products. An herbal cleanse is a combination of herbs (depending on which ones you take) that cleanse the colon, kidneys, bladder, intestines and liver during a particular period of time. I generally do an herbal cleanse a few times a year. You can still eat when you do an herbal cleanse, hopefully you are eating better while doing it. A fruit cleanse or a smoothie cleanse is basically a cleanse togive your body a rest from the whole digestive process. “Digestion time varies between individuals and between men and women. After you eat, it takes about six to eight hours for food to pass through your stomach and small intestine.” That was by the Mayo Clinic. With juicing and doing smoothies, you don’t have the process of breaking down foods. While you can lose weight, these are not diets and should not be used for such.

Now on to my Day 2….

greensmoothie

Fyi, this is a very nice stock photo of a perfect green smoothie. MINE on the other hand, do not look like this. Mine are brown and scary looking!!

I had a rough night. I went to bed with the WORST headache. I thought that my headache came from starting the smoothie cleanse and not having enough protein or water. As a vegetarian I have to be sure to get enough protein in my daily diet. I woke this morning, headache was gone. Got to work and headache was back. After hearing the complaints from my co-workers about allergies, I found my culprit. Me bringing up my headache was part of the reason why I did not prep the next day. In the book, there are two programs. One where  you have three smoothies a day and the other where you have two smoothies and a full meal. I chose the second program as I would like to continue after I get through this.

My intent was to get up at 4:50 a.m., work out, shower, dress, shine and I am out the door. Instead, I woke up at 4:00 a.m. having to pee SO bad. I didn’t look at the clock with the idea of go to the bathroom and then work out. That would be a smart and dedicated person. I laid there for a minute until I couldn’t take it anymore. I got up, went to the bathroom and got back in bed. Yep, I laid there until the alarm went off at 5:20 and THEN rolled out of the bed at 5:30.

I intentionally did not prepare for my morning smoothie as I wanted to see how long it would take me to make it in the morning and how it would affect my morning routine. Most of my clients or students complain that making smoothies or juicing would take too much time out of their day. Actually, putting on my makeup takes the longest of my morning routine. I made my smoothie and got on with my day.

Now keeping in mind that I downed my first smoothie at 6:00 a.m., I was ready for my first snack by the time I got to work. My snack of choice was an apple and a 100 calorie pack of almonds at around 9:30 a.m. I tried to hold out until noon to have lunch but I was fading fast and seeing stars. After lunch I had TWO, count them, two snacks before I had my next smoothie for the evening. All and all it was a good day I’d say. Tune in for Day 3.

 

Leave a Reply

