peachsmoothie   Day 7 of my 10 day green smoothie cleanse. Coming down the home stretch people. I must say that I have a NEW relationship with the bathroom at work. ☺ In addition to your two or three smoothies a day, you still to drink water and detox tea (or herbal or green tea). Drinking a smoothie is a meal. While it is liquid, you still need to be hydrated with water.

“The body of a human baby is made up of approximately 75-80% water. As we grow older, this figure decreases and averages to about 60 to 65% for men and 50 to 60%. Every day you lose water through your breath, perspiration, urine and bowel movements. For your body to function properly, you must replenish its water supply. Based on a resting state, the average adult loses approximately 1500 ml/day (approx 1.59 qt/day) water through urine everyday. This figure will increase depending on how active you are.

� Water loss through perspiration / sweat and expired air (water lost through vapor when you exhale) is harder to measure but it is estimated to be around 500-800ml (0.5 to 0.8 qt.) a day. Again, this figure will increase depending on how active you are – if you exercise everyday, or you have a lifestyle where you are regularly physically active you will lose more water.

� Water lost through fecal matter is approximately 100ml a day.

� Females lose additional water through vaginal discharge – approximately 50 ml/day

So tallying up those figures, an average adult loses a base 2150- 2450 ml (2.27 – 2.59 quarts) of water every single day.”

Today for me was different.Weekends are busy. I wake up later than usual and so I wasn’t on a regular smoothie schedule. Upon waking, I drank some green tea. I had some sunflower seeds, grapes, a few almonds and I hit the road early. I didn’t bring a smoothie with me so I bought a green smoothie by Bolthouse. I had my snack later and made a tasty dinner in the evening. To stay on track, it is important to prepare for a busy day and the possibility that you might not make it home to your homemade smoothie. Bring water and snacks to keep from buying out or purchasing unhealthy snack options.

Stay tune for day 8.

Leave a Reply

