Posted in career coaching, jewelry design, jewelry making

Jewelry As Art Or Career?

Daily writing prompt
What alternative career paths have you considered or are interested in?

The career path that I would consider or have considered changing to, is jewelry making. I learned how to make jewelry over 20 years ago and fell in love. Just like with most industries, you can go in a lot of directions with jewelry making. Some people who work in jewelry, only work in pearls. They travel to the ends of the Earth to find the best pearls. Others in the jewelry making industry set semi-precious and precious stones to create some of the most beautiful jewelry pieces. Then there are the jewelry artists that form jewelry out of other mediums such as found objects like bottle caps, sticks or whatever their imagination finds jewelry worthy.

Jewelry By LaTreviette

I started out making beaded jewelry. Beading jewelry is fun but at the time, I thought I was kind of limited in my designs. I wanted to take my jewelry making skills to the next level. I met this woman in a bead store, who is now one of my good friends, who was wearing a beautiful ring. I complimented her on the ring and she stated that she made it. My eyes popped out of my head and my mouth flung open. She described to me the jewelry making classes that she took to construct the ring and I was fascinated. I knew this would level up my jewelry making skills remarkably so I signed up for the next class EXPEDITIOUSLY!!

My first class was so cool. It was a small group but there was an incredible amount of talent in the room. I gained some valuable skills and friendships from everyone there. When the courses ended, I took my new found jewelry making skills and set out to make my jewelry line. The rings in the above picture I made during my time in the jewelry making classes. They were my first rings, my babies.

While I know a thing or two about making jewelry, setting some stones and even stringing pearls, starting a jewelry line and a business, like starting any business, isn’t easy. Running the business wasn’t the hard part for me. The hard part was conceptualizing the jewelry line itself. I wanted limited edition pieces because I didn’t want to mass produce. Not more than five pieces per item; ie. five rings, five bracelets etc. As a holistic health practitioner, I wanted my designs to be holistic and spiritual. Aside from designing and making the jewelry, I had to photograph the jewelry for my website and social media. I also needed exceptional photographs of my jewelry. The quality of your jewelry photograph can make or break a sale. That was tremendously stressful when I had a full time job, other side hustles and was a single parent. Even though I sold several jewelry pieces that I fabricated over the years, the jewelry career that I imagined for myself, never manifested. Despite the fact that I love designing and making jewelry, I now only forge jewelry for myself and have chosen a career path in holistic health, wellness and beauty wellness.

NUBODI4U is a blog of the NUBODI and NUBODI BEAUTY brands that aim to motivate, educate and stimulate on all things holistic health, wellness and beauty wellness. If you like my musings, visit my blog, Like, Comment and or Share with your friends and family on your social media page. Join the mailing list to get up to blog posts on all things holistic health, wellness and beauty wellness.

Don’t forget to visit the NUBODI website to see what’s new.

Peace & Blessings!!

NUBODI CEO signature
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is andbeauty-wellness-1.png

Author:

NUBODI4U is a blog that seeks to inspire, motivate and educate in holistic health, wellness and beauty wellness. With over 26 years of experience in the holistic health, wellness and beauty wellness, NUBODI also provides a range of holistic health and wellness services and beauty products that supports individual spiritual and wellness journeys.

Leave a comment